Election of two new Steering Committee members

The Research Council elected two new member of the Steering Committee of NRP 72: Dik Mevius and Mathias Pletz.

Mathias Pletz, professor of infectiology at the University Hospital in Jena (on the left) and Dik Mevius, professor of antimicrobial resistance at Utrecht University (on the right).

Dik Mevius is professor of antimicrobial resistance at Utrecht University. His research focuses on the interface between animals and humans with regard to the evolution and spread of antimicrobial resistance. He is also in charge of the Dutch National Reference Laboratory on Antimicrobial Resistance in Animals and leads the research group on antimicrobial resistance at Wageningen Bioveterinary Research Lelystad.

Mathias Pletz is professor of infectiology and director of the Centre for Infection Medicine and Hospital Hygiene at the University Hospital in Jena (Germany). In addition to his clinical work, he leads a research group that is developing new diagnostic and therapeutic strategies against multiresistant bacteria and biofilms.

Mathias Pletz strengthens the Steering Committee in the areas that were previously covered by Jesús Rodríguez Baño of the University Hospital Virgen Macarena. Rodríguez Baño is leaving the Committee for professional reasons.

The Steering Committee of NRP 72 is now composed of nine experts from Switzerland and abroad. It is responsible for the overall management of the NRP and, importantly, its scientific quality, from the selection of research projects to the synthesis of research results.